Honoring Your Imperfections

I am a very flawed person. I make mistakes all of the time and, if I was so inclined, I could write down entire lists of regrets I have. But that doesn’t make me different than anyone because we are all flawed. Nobody is perfect. But instead of admitting this and finding peace with it, some of us rather place pressure on ourselves to be perfect. We’ve fallen for this notion that perfection is possible when it isn’t. 


No matter how hard you try, you will always make mistakes. You will always do something that you’ll end up regretting. Why? Because we’re humans. It’s unavoidable. This may make some people sad; feeling that they’ll never get beyond this all too flawed state of being. But I’ve learned to not only find peace with it but extraordinary comfort. I am thankful for my flaws. I am thankful that I am not perfect.

Imagine if perfection were possible. What kind of pressure would we have to self-apply in order to be perfect? I’ve met people in my life who put so much pressure on themselves that they’re miserable all of the time and when they inevitably make their mistakes, they cannot forgive themselves. They feel horrible and dejected. Their self esteem withers away. It’s no way to live.

Should we completely forget about doing the right thing then, since mistakes and regrets are unavoidable? That’s no way to live, either. If we create space in our hearts for love and compassion. If we truly love ourselves and others, we will gravitate toward doing well by ourselves and others. It may not be 100 percent efficient, but as long as we dedicate ourselves to being the best we can be, given our natural limitations, then we will have done as much as we can and we can rest assured that we can make peace with our humanity. 

Honoring your imperfection ultimately means honoring yourself. It is the mere expression of self compassion. 

3 thoughts on “Honoring Your Imperfections

  1. Very well written.
    Mr Midnight and Sir Winston, from our blog “Gilmours Nice Place”, say that making mistakes is indeed a necessity for an individual to develop in character and move forward. Mr Midnight adds that life would be very boring if we were all perfect.
    As for myself, I´m not into all this self-pain inflicting stuff about pretending to be somebody I´m not. I have my duties but I look after myself first (in a healthy egocentric way!). I am than able to help those around me properly without ruining myself.
    Meow, purr purr and kind regards. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

